The project team

See About for information about the project.

Historical Research

Prof Peter Read Ms Julie JansonMs Julia TorpeyDr Jillian BarnesMs Karen Maber
Photograph PhotographJulia TorpeyJillian BarnesKaren Maber
DirectorResearcher Senior Research OfficerDoctoral Candidate

Senior Researcher & Cinematographer


Web & Media

Dr Suzana Sukovic Mr Andrey Inkin Ms Jessica Birk Ms Jacqueline Wilson
Photograph Andrey Inkin   Photograph Photograph 
Research Associate
(System Architecture & Web Design)
Web Developer Artist & Web Design Consultant (incl. logo design)

Website Assistant


Ms Chantal JacksonMs Kate Rogers Ms Sheena KitchenerDr Mostafa Shaikh
Chantal JacksonKate Rogers
Photo of Mostafa
Video EditorsCinematographerApplication Developer &
System Admin

We acknowledge the help of

  • Elders past and present
  • Descendants of traditional owners of the north-eastern region of Sydney
  • The Aboriginal Educational Consultative Groups, northern regions
  • Members of the Aboriginal communities of northern Sydney
  • Bob Waterer, Christine Waterer, Dennis Foley, Tracey Howie, Lynnette Robley, Trudy Smith, Margaret Robinson, Reta Smith, Michelle Kulk, Susan Moylan-Coombs, Lois Birk, Jessica Birk, Caroline Glass-Pattison, Eddie Goodall, Clare Jackson, Dave Watts, Therese Kenyon, Virginia Mcleod, John McRitchie, Virginia Gow, Eliza Pross, Julie Hendicott, Ian Jacobs, Keith Vincent Smith, Michelle Kulk, Lyn Stewart, Bruce Lowrie 
  • Guringai Aboriginal Education Consultative Group 
  • North Aboriginal Education Consultative Group
  • The University of Sydney ICT and Intersect Australia.

We welcome comments, corrections and suggestions of further research on